AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the little things that make your day delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A CNET shopping feature presents Yale’s Assure Lock 2 range as a practical holiday gift, highlighting fingerprint access, keypad options and remote control through the Yale Access app. The feature directs shoppers to Best Buy, but provides no prices, promotion dates, test results or independent security assessment.

CNET is promoting Yale Assure Lock 2 smart locks as holiday gifts, directing shoppers to Best Buy for fingerprint-enabled and push-button models. The feature highlights keyless entry, remote controls through the Yale Access app and finish choices, but does not state prices or identify a limited-time deal.

The fingerprint version is described as offering a fingerprint reader and touchscreen keypad, with built-in Wi-Fi for checking lock status or controlling access through the Yale Access app. The feature also lists Auto-Lock and Auto-Unlock among the model’s functions. It does not specify setup requirements, which phones or networks are supported, or whether every function works identically in every configuration.

CNET presents three finishes for the fingerprint model: Black Suede, Satin Nickel and Oil Rubbed Bronze. The color choices are framed as ways to match existing door hardware. The feature also describes a push-button Assure Lock 2 with a physical key for backup, available in Black Suede and Satin Nickel, as an alternative for people who prefer buttons to fingerprint access or a touchscreen.

The shopping feature says users can share access with family members, dog walkers or visitors and manage the lock remotely. It notes that select models work with popular smart-home platforms and mentions Matter compatibility across Yale’s wider lineup. It does not identify which Assure Lock 2 configurations support Matter, so shoppers should check the specific model details rather than assume compatibility across the range.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Holiday shopping feature; publication d…
The developmentCNET has published a holiday gift feature promoting Yale Assure Lock 2 smart locks, with Best Buy links for fingerprint and keypad versions.
Give the Gift of Smarter Home Access With a Yale Smart Lock
Holiday Gift Guide / Smart Home Access

Give the Gift of Smarter Home Access With a Yale Smart Lock

CNET spotlights Yale Assure Lock 2 models as practical gifts, with fingerprint or keypad entry and app-based remote access. The feature points shoppers to Best Buy, while leaving prices, sale dates, and independent security evidence unstated.

Models described 2 styles Fingerprint and push-button
Fingerprint finishes 3 choices Black Suede, Satin Nickel, Oil Rubbed Bronze
Push-button finishes 2 choices Black Suede and Satin Nickel
Deal details supplied None No price, discount, deadline, or stock status

Two ways to unlock

The shopping feature describes two broad Assure Lock 2 configurations. Their entry methods and listed backup options differ, so verify the precise listing.

Biometric model

Fingerprint + touchscreen

Described with a fingerprint reader, touchscreen keypad, built-in Wi-Fi, and Yale Access app controls. The feature does not say whether this version includes a physical key.

Button model

Keypad + physical key

A push-button Assure Lock 2 is listed with a physical key for backup and remote app controls. It suits buyers who prefer buttons over biometric or touchscreen entry.

Shared features

Access for household routines

The feature mentions guest access, remote status checks, Auto-Lock, and Auto-Unlock. It does not specify setup conditions or whether every function works on every model.

Black SuedeA dark look for modern hardware
Satin NickelA brushed-silver pairing
Oil Rubbed BronzeA warmer, traditional finish option for the fingerprint model

Compare what the feature says

The descriptions are promotional shopping copy. Use them as a starting point, then confirm all specifications against the exact product listing.

DetailFingerprint modelPush-button modelWhat remains unclear
Entry method Fingerprint reader and touchscreen keypad Physical-button keypad Exact model numbers and configuration variations
Physical key Not stated Listed as included Confirm the included hardware on the chosen listing
App access Built-in Wi-Fi and Yale Access app are described Remote app controls are described Phone, network, account, and setup requirements
Smart-home support Range-level platform and Matter references Range-level platform and Matter references Which individual configurations support each platform
Feature claims are not test findings.

CNET’s feature describes convenience and security upgrades but offers no independent testing, certification details, or comparative security evidence.

Read as promotion

A thoughtful gift starts with fit

A connected lock affects daily routines and household access. Match the device to the recipient’s preferences, home setup, and comfort managing app access.

01 Choose

Entry preference

Fingerprint and touchscreen, or familiar physical buttons?

02 Confirm

Backup access

Check whether the exact model includes a physical key.

03 Check

Home compatibility

Verify Wi-Fi, app, and smart-home support for that version.

04 Review

Current listing

Compare installation details, price, availability, and any fees.

What the feature leaves open

The supplied copy does not establish the practical details shoppers need to judge cost, setup, compatibility, or security.

Before checkout

  • Current price, discount, and sale dates
  • Retail stock and exact model number
  • Installation requirements and included parts
  • Battery life and connectivity limits
  • App, account, and subscription requirements
  • Supported phones and network setup

For connected access

  • Which models support Matter
  • Which platforms work with each configuration
  • Conditions for Auto-Lock and Auto-Unlock
  • How guest access is administered
  • Privacy settings and security controls
  • Independent security testing or certification
Shopping takeaway

Use the Best Buy listings cited by CNET to check current price, availability, and model specifications. The feature does not identify a launch, a sale deadline, or a later product milestone; retailer inventory and prices may change.

What CNET says

Selected statements from the shopping feature, presented as attributed product descriptions.

“The Yale Assure Lock 2 offers Auto-Lock, Auto-Unlock and smart-home connectivity.”

— CNET

A holiday shopping feature for Yale Assure Lock 2, with Best Buy as the retail destination. Verify the exact model before buying.

Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

A Lock as an Everyday Gift

The pitch is that a smart lock can be used as part of a home’s daily routine rather than stored away after the holidays. Keypad codes and shared access may be useful for households that regularly admit guests or service providers, while remote status checks can give users another way to manage the door when away. These are convenience claims in a shopping feature, not evidence that the products prevent break-ins or outperform conventional locks.

The choice between fingerprint, touchscreen and physical-button entry also makes the range relevant to people with different preferences. A physical key is specifically listed for the push-button model, while the feature does not say that the fingerprint version includes one. That distinction matters to gift buyers choosing a device for someone who wants a familiar backup method.

Smart locks also connect a purchase to household access and account management, not just hardware style. A buyer would need to consider who will administer the app, how guest access is managed and whether the recipient’s home setup supports the model. The feature promotes the convenience but does not provide a detailed account of privacy, security settings or installation demands.

Products Worth Considering

Philips Hue Festavia 130-Foot Indoor/Outdoor Smart String Lights, 500 LEDs

Philips Hue Festavia 130-Foot Indoor/Outdoor Smart String Lights, 500 LEDs

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Models and Features in the Promotion

The CNET feature is a product recommendation and retail promotion, rather than a product launch announcement or independent security report. It describes Yale as having more than 180 years of security innovation; that is a company-history claim presented in the promotional copy, not independently substantiated there. The article’s immediate call to action is to explore the Assure Lock 2 at Best Buy.

Its product descriptions distinguish two broad configurations. The fingerprint model is presented with biometric entry, a touchscreen keypad and Wi-Fi app controls. The push-button version is described with a conventional keypad and a physical key backup, alongside remote app controls. The article also refers to Auto-Lock and Auto-Unlock, but gives no operating conditions or configuration details for those features.

Finish is a prominent part of the gift framing: Black Suede is associated with dark, modern hardware, Satin Nickel with brushed-silver fixtures and Oil Rubbed Bronze with warmer or more traditional doors. These are styling suggestions, not technical differences. Prices, product numbers and retailer stock are absent from the supplied feature, as are details on installation or any required subscription.

““The Yale Assure Lock 2 offers Auto-Lock, Auto-Unlock and smart-home connectivity.””

— CNET

Price, Compatibility and Security Details

The feature does not give prices, discounts, sale dates or stock status, so it is not possible to tell whether Best Buy is offering a special holiday price or how long the products will be available. It also supplies no direct product links or model numbers in the text provided.

Several practical details remain unspecified, including installation requirements, battery life, connectivity limitations, app or account requirements, and whether any functions require an additional fee. Although the feature uses terms such as “better security” and “security upgrades,” it includes no independent testing, certification details or comparative security evidence. Those statements should be read as promotional claims, not as a finding that a smart lock guarantees greater protection.

Compatibility is also not fully spelled out. The article refers broadly to smart-home platforms and Matter but does not map those features to individual versions. The actual event is a shopping feature, not confirmation of a new Yale release, and the supplied information does not establish whether the listed products or descriptions have changed since publication.

Check the Exact Model Before Buying

Readers considering a purchase can use the Best Buy listings cited by CNET to check current price, availability and model specifications. They should confirm the exact finish and entry method, whether a physical key is included, which smart-home platforms are supported and what is required to use the Yale Access app.

No follow-up announcement, sale deadline or future product milestone is identified in the feature. The next development for shoppers is therefore likely to be retailer-level: current inventory and pricing may change, while the product details should be checked against the specific configuration before purchase.

Key Questions

What is the news about Yale Assure Lock 2?

CNET has featured the Yale Assure Lock 2 range as a holiday gift and points readers to Best Buy. The supplied feature does not announce a new product launch.

What entry options are described?

The fingerprint model is described with a fingerprint reader and touchscreen keypad. A separate push-button version has a keypad and physical key backup.

Can the lock be controlled remotely?

The feature says models with built-in Wi-Fi can be checked or controlled through the Yale Access app. It does not detail connectivity requirements or whether every feature is available on every configuration.

Does the feature list prices or discounts?

No. It directs shoppers to Best Buy but gives no prices, discount amounts, sale dates or stock information.

Are all Assure Lock 2 models compatible with Matter?

The feature mentions Matter compatibility in Yale’s wider smart-lock lineup and says select models work with smart-home platforms. It does not identify which specific Assure Lock 2 versions support Matter, so shoppers should verify the listing for the exact model.

Source: CNET

You May Also Like

7 Best PC Motherboards for Prime Day Deals in 2026

Discover the best PC motherboard deals for Prime Day 2026, including options for AM4 and AM5 platforms, with insights on features and upgrade paths.

Get Instant Updates On Business Closures For Asset Purchasing Success

A new initiative tests real-time alerts for liquidation buyers, providing timely info on business closures to improve asset acquisition success.

The Best Way to Time a Mattress Purchase Without Guessing

Optimize your mattress shopping timing with expert tips to avoid guesswork and secure the best deals at the right time.

Anchor. The Schwarz Group model.

Analyzing Schwarz Group’s €11B investment in Europe’s largest data center and its potential as a scalable AI infrastructure template for Europe.