🔍 Read the full analysis: Could AI Flat Rates Be On The Way Out? The Grok And OpenAI Developments on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get the little things that make your day delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that Grok Bot’s serving costs were unsustainably high relative to revenue, without giving figures or announcing a specific policy change. In the same week, OpenAI added limits on paid accounts tied to devices and payment cards and said several plans will share a ChatGPT-Codex allowance from December. The developments point to more metering within flat-price plans, but do not establish that those plans are ending.
Elon Musk said on Nov. 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” while OpenAI introduced new controls on paid accounts and announced a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex. The moves put pressure on the idea of unlimited AI use at a fixed price, but neither announcement says flat-rate subscriptions are ending.
Musk made the comment in reply to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset after users said their usage had run out quickly that week. He gave no cost, revenue or margin figures and did not announce a change to the bot’s price, weekly pool or reset schedule. His statement concerned Grok Bot, an agent that carries out tasks, rather than Grok chat generally.
OpenAI’s help center says it limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased using a payment card or device. The policy covers Go, Plus and Pro plans; OpenAI has not published the numerical thresholds. The company also says Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from one shared allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. That allowance is measured in tokens, while unlimited Instant chats remain outside the meter, according to the source material.
OpenAI also increased some allowances during the same week. On Oct. 29, Codex and ChatGPT executive Thibault Sottiaux said usage limits were being doubled for Pro tiers and Business Premium. OpenAI’s release notes specify that Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their former Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction for Pro 200 was cancelled. The changes show that usage rules can tighten in one area and expand in another.
Infographic 01 · One week, four moves
More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked
In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset
OpenAI gives more on top plans
Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.
Limits per card and per device
ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.
One meter from December
Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.
Musk: Grok Bot cost too much
One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.
Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.
Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
Why AI Subscription Allowances Are Shifting
For subscribers, the practical issue is not simply whether a plan has a flat monthly price. It is what the plan’s allowance covers, how quickly different tasks consume it, and whether activity across products draws from one pool. A brief chat and an agent working through research or coding tasks may use very different amounts of computing resources.
For businesses, a seat price may not be enough to forecast spending or access. Shared token allowances and product-specific limits make it more important to ask vendors how usage is measured, what happens when a pool is exhausted, and whether extra use costs more. The source material’s advice is to request usage and pricing terms in writing and check usage dashboards before upgrading, buying credits or seeking a reset.
The developments do not prove that flat fees are commercially unworkable. They do show providers placing more emphasis on usage controls within fixed-price subscriptions. Musk’s explanation is a statement about costs, not a disclosed financial account, and OpenAI’s product changes do not establish a sector-wide shift on their own.
Products Worth Considering

Dyson Car+Boat Cordless Handheld Vacuum

Philips Hue Secure Starter Kit with Contact Sensors, Motion Sensor, Bridge, and Color Smart Bulbs

Bose S1 Pro+ All-in-One PA Speaker
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Recent Changes to AI Usage Rules
OpenAI introduced a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024, describing access to its best models as unlimited. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that OpenAI was losing money on Pro subscriptions because people used them more than expected. That earlier remark provides context for the current debate, but it is not evidence of the present cost or profitability of any specific plan.
Grok Bot is part of xAI’s X Subscription, launched on Oct. 12, 2026, according to the source material. xAI’s pricing page lists the bot with Premium at $30 a month, Super at $100 and Ultra at $200, and says its use comes from a shared weekly pool covering Grok chat and xAI models in the Cursor coding tool. xAI says usage is measured by agent steps and tokens, with consumption varying by task and effort.
The underlying economics differ from one request to another. The source material says OpenAI’s rate card prices output tokens from its most capable model at roughly 100 times the rate of its cheapest model. That comparison concerns the stated token rates, not a universal estimate of what any user’s task costs to serve. It helps explain why providers may set different allowances for simple chats and more demanding agent or coding work.
“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”
— Elon Musk, replying on X on Nov. 1, 2026
What the Announcements Leave Open
Musk did not say whether xAI had changed Grok Bot’s weekly usage pool, whether users would receive resets, or whether prices would change. He also provided no financial data. Any specific estimate of Grok Bot’s losses or the size of a cost adjustment would go beyond what his post confirms.
Reports cited in the source material describe a post from Grok’s official account attributing adjusted allocations to serving costs and mentioning a dashboard fault. The source author said they could not locate the post itself, so those details remain reported, not independently confirmed here. OpenAI has likewise not stated the number of accounts allowed per device or card. The exact token allowance and how it will work across ChatGPT and Codex also remain unspecified in the material provided.
It is not clear whether these measures signal a broad change across the AI industry or reflect separate product decisions. Nor do they confirm that fixed monthly prices will disappear. The confirmed development is greater attention to usage limits and shared pools, not the end of subscriptions priced by the month.
OpenAI’s next stated milestone is the planned December start of the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business customers using ChatGPT and Codex. Subscribers will be able to check the relevant plan and usage information as the change takes effect; the source material does not give a specific December date or the allowance amounts.
For Grok Bot, Musk’s post does not set out a next step. Users would need further information from xAI to know whether its weekly pool, resets or subscription terms have changed. In the meantime, customers comparing plans should look at the included tools, usage measurement and limits—not just the monthly price. Any wider move away from flat fees will depend on further disclosures and product changes, rather than this week’s statements alone.
Key Questions
Did Elon Musk announce a Grok Bot price increase?
No price increase was announced in the post described in the source material. Musk said serving Grok Bot had been unsustainably costly relative to revenue, but did not provide a new price or explain whether its allowance had changed.
Is OpenAI ending flat-rate ChatGPT plans?
The reported changes do not say that OpenAI is ending flat-rate subscriptions. They add account controls and a shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex on certain plans.
OpenAI’s help information says the shared allowance for Plus, Pro and Business is due to begin in December 2026. The source material does not specify an exact day or the allowance amounts.
What limits did OpenAI add for cards and devices?
OpenAI’s help center says it limits the number of paid accounts used on one device and the number of subscriptions bought with one payment card or device. The policy covers Go, Plus and Pro, but the numerical limits are not published in the source material.
Why can agent tasks use more of an AI plan’s allowance?
According to xAI’s documentation, Grok Bot usage is measured by agent steps and tokens, and consumption depends on the task and effort involved. An agent performing extended work can therefore draw more usage than a short chat reply.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
