AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro’s New Limits: What Users Should Know on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the little things that make your day delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month Pro plan and increased the shared ChatGPT Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now get the higher one, while existing subscribers who already had it keep it. Prices, Plus usage and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged.

OpenAI canceled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200’s Work and Codex allowance and increased the shared allowance on its $100 Pro 100 and $500 Pro 500 plans, according to release notes posted October 29. The company says current subscribers receive the changes automatically, without waiting for renewal; prices are unchanged.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. ChatGPT Work and Codex draw from the same allowance, so extra use in one reduces what remains for the other. Work is used for longer tasks, such as research and documents, while Codex is OpenAI’s coding agent.

For the $200 Pro 200 plan, OpenAI says it canceled the reduction announced in a September 29 email. The updated help page clarifies that the change is not a doubling for every subscriber: users on the lower allowance now match the higher allowance, while those who already had the higher one keep it. The source material describes the restored level as 20 times the Plus allowance, rather than the planned 10 times.

OpenAI says Business Premium seats will receive more usage, but its release note does not specify how much. A post by Thibault Sottiaux, an OpenAI product executive who posts as Tibo, described the change as a doubling for Business Premium. The updated help page also says Pro 100 and Pro 500 keep their existing weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, while Pro 200’s lower weekly limit now matches its higher one. Plus usage and plan prices are unchanged.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes tak…
The developmentOpenAI changed its ChatGPT Pro usage allowances on October 29, canceling a planned Pro 200 cut and increasing Work and Codex usage on other paid tiers.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

How the New Allowances Affect Subscribers

The change matters most to people who use ChatGPT Work and Codex heavily. Their shared allowance has increased on Pro 100 and Pro 500, and some Pro 200 subscribers avoid a previously announced reduction. Because the tools draw from one pool, however, the increase does not give each tool an independent allowance.

Subscribers should distinguish these usage changes from other plan features. OpenAI’s help page says the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are not increasing, and Ultrafast, the faster speed mode described in the source material, remains exclusive to Pro 500. A larger Work and Codex allowance should not be read as a general increase across every ChatGPT feature.

For businesses, the unspecified Business Premium increase makes it harder to calculate capacity from the announcement alone. Teams may need to review which employees have premium seats and keep ChatGPT seat costs separate from API budgets; the announcement concerns plan usage, not a stated change to API pricing. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the revised allowances automatically, so no upgrade or renewal is required to get them.

Products Worth Considering

Bose TV Speaker Compact Soundbar with Bluetooth and HDMI-ARC, Black

Bose TV Speaker Compact Soundbar with Bluetooth and HDMI-ARC, Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From September Cut to October Reversal

The change follows a series of adjustments to OpenAI’s paid plans. The supplied source says OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan on September 10. On September 29, it reopened that plan, introduced the $500 Pro 500 tier and told affected subscribers that included usage allowances would change while the monthly Pro 200 price remained $200.

In a September post, Sottiaux described the planned usage ladder as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying existing Pro 200 subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier for a time. OpenAI’s October 29 release notes then canceled the announced Pro 200 reduction and increased Work and Codex usage on Pro 100 and Pro 500. The reversal came one day before the planned October 30 reduction.

The reporting supplied for this article says Sottiaux attributed the earlier plan changes to demand for OpenAI’s GPT-6 Astra model. The October announcement’s formal release note is narrower than his post on X: it specifies Work and Codex allowances, while the updated help page lists other limits that remain the same.

“We heard your kind feedback.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo

Where the Published Limits Differ

The exact size of the Business Premium increase is not stated in OpenAI’s release note. Sottiaux’s post says it doubles, but the company’s written notice only says usage is increasing. The source material does not provide a revised numerical allowance for those seats, so businesses cannot calculate the new capacity from the release note alone.

There is also a difference in scope between Sottiaux’s broad description of doubled limits across Pro tiers and Business Premium and the narrower official help page. That page specifies which Work and Codex allowances change and says some weekly chat limits stay the same. The help page provides the more detailed plan-by-plan account in the supplied material.

OpenAI’s announcement does not specify how much practical work the extra allowance will support. It says usage depends on factors including the model, task and speed mode. The source also says Dots, OpenAI’s always-on agents, retain extended limits “for now” and are counted separately. No further change to those limits is confirmed here.

Check Your Plan’s Usage Page

OpenAI says the revised allowances apply automatically to existing subscribers, without a wait for the next billing date. Subscribers can check their plan and remaining usage in their account’s usage page, and should compare the listed Work and Codex allowance with the specific tool they use most before deciding whether to change tiers.

Business customers should wait for plan-specific figures or check their seat details with OpenAI before treating the Business Premium change as a confirmed twofold increase. The announcement gives no new pricing and says Plus usage remains unchanged. Any further adjustments to allowances, Dots limits or other plans have not been specified in the supplied material.

Key Questions

What changed for ChatGPT Pro subscribers?

OpenAI doubled the previous shared Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500 and canceled a planned reduction to Pro 200’s allowance. Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance now match the higher one; those already on the higher allowance keep it.

Did every ChatGPT Pro limit double?

No. The published help page specifies changes to Work and Codex usage. It says weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain unchanged, while Pro 200’s lower weekly limit now matches its higher one.

Is Business Premium’s allowance doubling?

OpenAI’s release note confirms an increase but does not give a number. Sottiaux’s post says it doubles, so the exact amount is not specified in the formal release note.

Do subscribers need to take action?

No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the revised allowances automatically, without waiting for renewal. Users can check their account’s usage page for plan details.

Did prices or Plus usage change?

No. The supplied information says plan prices and Plus usage are unchanged. The announcement concerns usage allowances on specified Pro and Business Premium plans.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

OpenAI’s Astra: Disrupting Boundaries With A Gated Deployment

OpenAI announces Astra, a model crossing the ‘Critical’ cybersecurity threshold, with delayed, gated release and advanced safeguards to manage risks.

A 5.7% Intelligence Edge, At Twice The AI Price

Anthropic’s Claude Fable 5 costs twice as much as Opus 4.8. Benchmarks show a 5.7% Intelligence Index lead, but productivity evidence is limited.

Candor as a Moat: A Critical Reading of Dario Amodei and Anthropic

Examining how Dario Amodei’s candor and safety proposals shape AI regulation and industry power dynamics amid recent government actions against Anthropic.

What Are The 4 Best AI Video Generators In 2027?

A comparison of four AI video generators based on their listed workflows—and the product details buyers still need to verify.